Hi All,

My husband Terry was diagnosed with mCRPC in September 2016. After Brachytherapy he has tried various treatment which have all eventually failed, including Zytiga and Docetaxel. At present, he is having radiotherapy on the spine to prevent paraplegia. He has been told this morning from his oncologist that Lu177 may give him only 4-6 weeks. Has anyone had  a similar diagnosis or experience they would be willing to share? 

Many thanks, look forward to hearing from you. 

Tricia (Terry's wife) 

Hi Tricia, I'm no expert, but I think with Lu177 it is fairly unpredictable as some guys seem to do very well and some do not. I met with Dr Nat Lenzo in Perth a couple of weeks ago and he's the leading Lu177 Doctor in Australia, having treated over 100 PCa patients. He told me 60% to 70% of guys respond and some not very much and some, who have more mets than bone, respond extremely well. He sees patients in Perth and Sydney, so I would suggest you get a GP referral and send it through tho his team at reception@theranostics.com.au. Don't get your hopes us too high and bear in mind it is $9,600 per infusion and usually patients are given 2 to 6 infusions. I hope this helps.

My father isn't quite at the mCRPC stage.

But I did ask his Oncologist about the Lu177 trial and Radium-223.

He said Lu177 was promising in some circumstances but had some toxicity issues in some patients.

Radium-223 he said might be better with different mets.

Hi Tricia and Terry,

I have had three treatments with Lutetium-177 at 6-weekly intervals.  I have had no significant side effects.

My PSA has dropped from 65 to 13.

I had previously failed Xtandi and Docetaxyl.

There is currently a nationwide clinical trial of Lutetium vs Cabazitaxel.  I think they are still recruiting for that.

Best wishes,

Tony

PS.  Here is a brief video of the Lutetium treatment:

http://www.9news.com.au/health/2017/05/17/19/29/new-prostate-cancer-therapy-delivers-promising-results