Xofigo (Radium-223): pain relief and longer survival

During the phone-in meeting we held this morning (23 March 2018), there was discussion about Xofigo (Radium-223). The question arose of whether Xofigo gave both pain relief and longer survival.

During that discussion, I mentioned that I had discussed Xofigo with American Medical Oncologist Alicia Morgans, and that this was on video.

This is the video:

A report on the ALSYMPCA trial of Xofigo (Radium-223) (previously called Alpharadin) can be found here.

http://www.nejm.org/doi/full/10.1056/NEJMoa1213755

You can find all our videos on our YouTube channel:

YouTube.com/JimJimJimJim

Jim

In line with the video provided by Jim, I thought many would find my paper  “XOFIGO – INTRAVENOUS INFUSION OF RADIUM 223 DICHLORIDE FOR BONE METASTASES” of further interest and comprehensive regarding this subject:

Compiled by Charles (Chuck) Maack – Prostate Cancer Activist/Mentor

DISCLAIMER: Please recognize that I am not a Medical Doctor.  I have been an avid student researching and studying prostate cancer as a survivor and continuing patient since 1992.  I have dedicated my retirement years to continued research and study in order to serve as an advocate for prostate cancer awareness, and, from a activist patient’s viewpoint, to voluntarily help patients, caregivers, and others interested develop an understanding of prostate cancer, its treatment options, and the treatment of the side effects that often accompany treatment.  There is absolutely no charge for my mentoring – I provide this free service as one who has been there and hoping to make your journey one with better understanding and knowledge than was available to me when I was diagnosed so many years ago.  Readers of this paper must understand that the comments or recommendations I make are not intended to be the procedure to blindly follow; rather, they are to be reviewed as my opinion, then used for further personal research, study, and subsequent discussion